Craig Wisner

Zion Canyons. 4/5 and 4/5/2014

The background information and cast of characters on this trip are well explained by Jacob on his blog post, Hike It. Like It: Traversing Zion.

Adan and I did Keyhole Canyon on our first day, a great easy introduction to slots and swimming.  I fully intend to get the kids into this one with me this summer.  The rappels are straightforward and I could lower them if necessary.  Temps should be better as well; I lost feeling in my feet within 45 minutes of getting in the water.

Photo conditions are difficult; all of these canyons were far darker than they appear here.  All of my photos were taken on a GoPro Hero HD without the ability to adjust the shutter speed or exposure so some blurriness ensued…

Canyoneering is too much fun.  Needless to say, it looks like we’re both hooked.  Plans for bigger, better, and harder canyons are already in the works and a new rope is in the mail.  While I’m pretty well versed in rock climbing and climbing anchors, this is a new application of some of those skills that I’m excited to explore.

Keyhole Canyon:

Gearing up and over geared.  Going by the books, we carried more than necessary.  Knowing what I know now, this canyon can be done with a harness and 60' of rope.  Maybe a sling and a link as backups.

Gearing up and over geared. Going by the books, we carried more than necessary. Knowing what I know now, this canyon can be done with a harness and 60′ of rope. Maybe a sling and a link as backups.

The biggest little adventure car, my new Honda Fit.  Los Angeles to Zion on $65.

The biggest little adventure car, my new Honda Fit. Los Angeles to Zion on $65.

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

Orderville Canyon:

(Unfortunately I missed most of the best jumps and swims in the latter half of the canyon when the camera died…)

DCIM100GOPRO

This hike was a lot of fun. ~12 miles, we finished it in about 6 hours.  More of a hike than a technical canyon, no serious rappelling was involved and most of it could have been downclimbed if you wanted to.  We had a blast in the lower half throwing our packs off of ledges and taking some good jumps and swims.  This sort of travel definitely makes you think about the robustness of your gear.

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

 

2 responses

  1. Jeremy

    Keep on truckin!

    Thought you’d find this poem funny.

    April 18, 2014 at 1:02 am

  2. Pingback: Traversing Zion « Hike It. Like It.

Leave a comment