Craig Wisner

Summer in the Sierra

I’ve got my permits on the way…

Going solo on the majority of the John Muir trail; entering at Kearsarge Pass (Onion Valley) on Thursday, June 23rd and exiting at Happy Isles (Yosemite) on Saturday, July 2nd.  Nine nights set aside for roughly 190 miles, though I’m aiming to do it a little faster at about 25 miles/day.  I aim to do it without resupply; carrying 10 days of food would be my longest without resupply to-date.

My preliminary gear list PDF can be found here:

JMT 2011

I will likely edit as weather/conditions (mainly snow levels) become more of a known factor.

2 responses

  1. Epic.

    Great list.

    What are you fueling with? This will be a hard effort for sure.

    I’m pumped for you on this one, looking forward to the photographs and words to follow.

    No fishing gear?

    March 20, 2011 at 11:06 am

    • I’ll likely be eating Skurka style to make calorie counting easy and keep the menu simple. I’ve never tried to get 10 days of food into my bear can; I’ll have to take really dense stuff, so not many luxuries.

      Probably primarily Balance/Clif bars, supplemented by nuts and Pringles during the day. Instant potato mixes, cheese chunks, beans, pasta, ramen, and mac n’ cheese (all beefed up w/ some olive oil) for dinner. I’ll only cook once a day.

      Fishing…
      I usually find on trips like this I don’t have the energy. I’ll be up at light and finish hiking at sunset. Usually I’m content just setting up camp, eating something hot while laying around, and watching the fish rise.

      March 20, 2011 at 11:31 am

Leave a Reply

