Craig Wisner

Boredoms, Transcendental Psychedelia, and Distance Running in the Heat

“Transcendence, transcendent, and transcendental are words that refer to an object (or a property of an object) as being comparatively beyond that of other objects. Such objects (or properties) transcend other objects (or properties) in some way.” — from Wikipedia

“The term psychedelic is derived from the Greek words ψυχή (psyche, “soul”) and δηλοῦν (deloun, “to manifest”), translating to “soul-manifesting”. A psychedelic experience is characterized by the perception of aspects of one’s mind previously unknown, or by the creative exuberance of the mind liberated from its ostensibly ordinary fetters.”— from Wikipedia

Ninety degrees, full sun, cupfuls of sweat, and 5 miles into today’s trail run the glorious occurred.

I typically refrain from using music while trail running, preferring to tune into what’s happening with my body, my environment, the ebb and flow of my own thoughts unmolested.

But the music came with me today; running midday in the sun, I knew I’d need a little something extra to help maintain.  And what a good choice that was…

I cycled through a few things on the playlist, and then suddenly….Boredoms.

Easing into their psychedelic, driving, percussive sounds, I suddenly found a rhythm in myself, rooted in them.  My foot strikes synced with the drums, the cymbals, the crashes of distortion and noise.  We held steady together, operating on exactly the same wavelength, and I was transported.  We sped up, slowed down, cruised through highs and lows…the terrain continuously, effortlessly rolling by.   I became man primordial, sweating, driven by a beat and my turning legs, ancient fires and drums and shamans dancing in the depths of my brain.

Somewhere, sometime later, when the music stopped, I found myself dazed and running a dusty trail, suddenly aware of my minimal shoes and the heat blister forming under the ball of my right foot.

Those brief moments of transcendence, of liberation from time, space, distance, ourselves…

The great connection, of mind-body-environment-self-other…what more can a runner, artist, musician–human ask for?

2 responses

  1. Loved that drum circle. Who are these dudes? Boredoms? Never heard of them, they’re totally off my radar, not sure why cause they kill it. ‘Battles’ is a band you should check out.

    When all the elements mesh together and there is syncopation of mind and body….. what a damn good moment. Thanks for sharing this Craig, gets me stoked. I might find my iPod and charge the bastard.

    July 28, 2011 at 7:30 pm

  2. Greg Gressel

    Craig,
    I used my ipod like medicine on my PCT thru. At first I used it only after my daily mileage exceeded 30, sort of like a reward for the effort. Later in the hike my feet really hurt and I believe the music gave my brain a distraction from the pain. I wonder if your brain processes pain and music in the same area?

    Greg

    October 24, 2011 at 10:09 am

Leave a Reply

