Craig Wisner

Some new running gear: Shoes, bottles, headlamp

Shoes:

This season I plan on making the running leap from 50K to 50+ mile trail races and solo runs; I’ve been running (short distance) in the New Balance Minimus Trail, which I love for runs under 10-12 miles or less. For longer, I’ve been using the NB MT101. On my last 50K race, I felt the MT101 came up a bit short- while I like relatively minimal, flat, and lightweight shoes, at 25+ miles of running my feet need something with more substance.

Enter Roclite 295…

1

I was REALLY excited to see my local running shop is stocking Inov8s now. I mail ordered some Terrocs many years ago, found them too narrow, but otherwise otherwise loved them. I pretty much wrote off Inov8 after that, not wanting to hassle with mail ordering shoes that I could never try on that seemed to always run narrow.

It looks like a found a good fit; don’t know if they changed their platform or if it’s the model. What blows me away about these shoes (and Inov8 in general): for shoes with really hefty lugs and sturdy construction (toe guard, etc.) they still come in light and flexible.

Ever put on a shoe and immediately know you found a good one?

Things I love about the Roclite so far:
-Roomy toe box. Too many manufacturers make shoes pointy, not allowing for swelling. I was having this problem at 25+ miles with my MT101s…Pinky toes jamming the toebox pretty bad on the downhills.
-The fact that these are roomy when laced loosely will make for a great all-around backpacking shoe, including some general winter stuff: lightweight, fast drying, big lugs, with room to add an NRS Hydroskin sock and thin wool liner.
-The big lugs are going to be great for mountain running as our weather gets sloppy.
-For how beefy these look, they’re actually light, flexible, and responsive feeling. Actually 2 oz. lighter than Brooks Cacadias with less upper foam/material to stay wet.

Bottles:

Camelbak Podium Chill

A simple piece of gear, but I’m really liking these.  They fit in my Ultimate Direction handheld holsters and the valves are the best I’ve used.  Leak free with a high flow when sucking or squeezing, they can also be fully locked shut (nice for throwing them in my duffel for the track).  I haven’t tried using anything cold in them- really don’t care about the insulated feature so far (it’s not summer).  Would like to get a pair of the non-insulated 24 oz.

Headlamp:

Petzl MYO RXP

 

Winter is fast approaching, days are getting shorter, and my children lost my old go-to headlamp (Petzl Tikka+2). While the Myo RXP really wasn’t purchased with general backpacking in mind (I don’t use much light for that, sometimes even leave it at home), it’s mainly going to be my trailrunning/fastpacking lamp. I wanted something brighter than the Tikka, consistent (regulated), with good battery life.

Initial impressions:

I got this in the mail recently and have used it on an 8 mile trail run for about 1.5 hours. This lamp can really light it up, no issue whatsoever running technical singletrack, navigating stream crossings, etc. Seems like a good light for my needs so far. Time will tell after I put it through the paces and try using for 12-14 hours straight (should be very soon).

Certainly not a weight weenie headlamp, though for the power, not too bad either; only twice the weight of a Tikka+2. I was most interested in the fact that it boasts a 23 meter minimum setting with ~95 hours of life. As opposed to the Tikka+2, with a 15 meter economy mode. The Tikka +2 boasts 160 hours in economy, and while that’s probably true, I’ve noticed a pretty serious drop off in output over time. The Petzl site claims output is roughly halved at 30 hours…whereas the Myo RXP has regulated output throughout the majority of battery life.  I like the idea of a regulated light; knowing in advance how many hours of a given level I can expect.

The programmable feature is nice; you can adjust the three preset lighting levels to your needs. One small thing that’s always bugged me about other lights is that the default setting scrolls from brightest to lowest. I don’t like turning on a light and immediately blinding myself and friends, especially when it’s got ~140 lumens. The RXP allowed me to set it in reverse; starting at a low level and getting brighter.

The flip-up diffuser lens will be good for camp/chores/work, while the spotlight is good for running. On higher levels, I’m certain it’s bright enough to MTB by (if not going stupid fast on technical stuff).

Should also mention it’s virtually bounce-free…great for running. Rear battery pack is comfortable. Actually feels far more secure than a Zipka does when running.

Also takes standard, rechargeable, and lithium batteries.

I realize much of what I’m reporting here can be found in the Petzl specs on it…Just wanted to share what (so far) appears to be a good light for fast, all night activities.

One response

  1. Nik Furse

    Noticed your review on BPL and seeing we both wear NB Minimus, I was wondering if you could shed some light on the comparative sizing between these and Inov8 Roclites?

    I wear a 12.5US in the Minimus, which provides 5mm or so excess room. I am leaning towards the Roclite 315 and 400Gtx boot.

    Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers mate

    October 28, 2011 at 5:57 am

Leave a Reply

