Craig Wisner

Bodysurfing Handplane

My first handplane; a swallowtail cut/sanded from scrap 3/4″ plywood, thinned in the nose and tail. I’ve yet to decide if I prefer a handstrap or the simplicity of a cutout.  Looking forward to doing some better quality pieces out of hardwoods after I settle on a design I like.  15″ x 8″.

I’ve preferred fins only up to this point but have found that the handplane gives just enough lift to help push your body into a higher planing position and get longer rides.

Bodysurfing:  always double overhead with barrels.

One response

  1. Eugene Smith

    Let’s see this in action.

    November 25, 2012 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

