Craig Wisner

Little Jimmy. 5/11 thru 5/12 2013

My son and I shouldered packs and left late in the day for Little Jimmy trail camp.  An hour drive and a few miles of southbound walking on the PCT led us to a sleepy spot in the pines, camping amongst a few PCT thru hikers.  An simple local getaway to spend some time talking and sharing a fire.

My son was excited about the other hikers as I was explaining the history of the PCT to him on our walk in.  Rounding a bend, we ran into Midnight Chocolate and three other thru hikers.  After a short chat with them, my son was positively amazed that someone could walk from Mexico to Canada.  I can see the gears turning in his head.  Soon he says to me “I could totally see myself just checking-out and walking for a few months when I’m a little older.”  I smile as I notice a renewed spring in his step, followed by a barrage of questions about PCT resupply, logistics, and other general info.  I assure him we can start doing longer trips together.  On our way out we met and walked with Baxter and Wildcat for a few minutes, a couple that further impressed thru hiking on him.  He’s been talking about doing a long trip all day.

My son likes trekking poles now.  They seem to help him pick up his pace.  This is good, as I don't like carrying them much anymore, yet can use them to erect our shelter.

My son likes trekking poles now. They seem to help him pick up his pace. This is good, as I don’t like carrying them much anymore, yet can use them to erect our shelter.

 

2 (1024x768)

3 (1024x768)

The pantry.

The pantry.

shangrila (1024x768)

Fruit. Fruit. Fruit.

Fruit. Fruit. Fruit.

trees (768x1024)

 

 

 

 

One response

  1. Abraham Smith

    Hi,

    I have a 6 year old son and I’m looking to take him on his first backpacking trip this summer. In addition to Little Jimmy, any other places in the So Cal area you recommend?

    Thanks

    May 13, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Leave a Reply

