Craig Wisner

Gyotaku.

This is my first attempt at gyotaku, the Japanese art of “fish rubbing”.  It is my understanding that the practice originated amongst fishmongers in the 1800s, fish being printed and posted as advertisements prior to being filleted, as well as being printed as evidence of trophy fish amongst fishermen.  Lacking sumi paper, my first attempt is on 90 lb. Stonehenge printing paper, far too stiff to capture proper detail.  The sumi paper traditionally used is far more flexible, allowing for a cleaner and softer wrap around the fish.  The fish is spread into position, inked, and pressed with paper.  Details are then sharpened/enhanced with a brush.  The following print is a rockfish, just a hair under 15″ in length, taken by polespear after work on Thursday (3/13/14) while solo diving in north Malibu.  Diving visibility was excellent and I thought I had some great pics of the day on my Gopro…only to return home to find that I forgot to put the SD card back in.

I’m anxious to continue developing my skills with this.

IMG_3869

3 responses

  1. Cool stuff. I like the fish rub.

    March 15, 2014 at 10:28 pm

  2. Beautiful and inspiring. Might need to try this some day to, like the look of that.

    March 16, 2014 at 7:33 am

  3. Craig, These gyotaku are really something else. Nice job. I’d hang those.

    April 14, 2014 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

