Craig Wisner

Rekindling.

IMG_5239 (1024x683)

Rest is good, each day a little better than the last.  There’s still chest pain and heart inflammation, especially when I shift positions abruptly or go from standing to laying down, but it’s subsiding slowly.  My heartrate is a little fast and hard, but it’s regular.   Bleeding has stopped and my fever is almost gone.  Things are certainly looking up.

There is so much art on my mind.  I’d highly recommend the photographers above.  In the midst of the troubles I’ve been facing, there’s also been a lot of time to think about other things.  New projects, ideas, inspirations.  In a day or two I expect I’ll feel well enough for a little time in the studio with some wood or clay.  I’m purchasing a new bandsaw today, my mind racing with ideas for wooden utensils to compliment my pottery, namely chopsticks and spoons to accompany bowls.  A few large chunks of black walnut sit in my shop, waiting to be formed.

I’m on a ramen kick right now.  Not actually eating it, but contemplating whether or not a perfectly cooked bowl of ramen or soba in a quality bowl with good utensils is the ultimate expression of art in my world.  Not a creation that hangs on a wall and screams of ideas and for attention, but a collection of processes, skills, and objects that combine to become perfect in the moment.  Humble, simple, practical art.  Accessibility, functionality, and transience without getting the ego hopelessly involved.

I’m also thinking a lot about alternative surfcraft and bodysurfing.  I likely will not be able to ride a surfboard for the next six months because of the blood thinners I’m taking and cutting/concussion risks, but I’m actually looking forward to devoting some serious time and practice to bodysurfing.  I have a few ideas for new bodysurfing handplanes to make, maybe even a small paipo (bellyboard).  Below is a recent handplane I was able to take out a few times prior to surgery.  Carved from cherry with two concave channels on the bottom and finished with a few coats of sanding resin, I liked the fit and feel.  I’m still not entirely sold on handplanes though I have fun making them.  They allow you to make sections on smaller waves but are a bit of a swimming nuisance in large or steep surf.

The coming months are also going to be a good time to grab my GoPro and strap on some fins to try my hand at surf photography, providing I can keep from getting run over.

IMG_5241 (1024x690)

Ever onward.

4 responses

  1. Rob

    Craig,
    That is a beautiful board. I have been keeping up with your posts, I’m sorry to hear about your heart problems, and am grateful that you seem to be on the other side of them. God bless you and your family.
    Rob V.

    September 9, 2014 at 2:10 pm

  2. mountain mike

    with no one to be, as you’re already faced Death, you find there’s much to do.

    September 12, 2014 at 7:15 am

  3. jeremy

    I’m super glad to see you’ve rebounded in a healthy way and are focusing on creation instead of dwelling on what might have been.

    If you post an update when you return to work, I’ll see you some time soon after.

    September 13, 2014 at 6:50 am

  4. Glad to have you back. The water will be good therapy,

    September 18, 2014 at 11:21 am

Leave a Reply

