Craig Wisner

Untitled (Death Comes Easy).

Death came

in raccoons last night

finding an open coop

and my favorite hen.

she lay there

a bloody stump

where the head once was

and when we turned our eyes

to grab for something

to fend them off

they carried the body

over a wall

onto a garage roof

and I watched them eat her

-blood on their faces

while they watched me

I went for my bow

to exact revenge

-stopped by visions

of a gut-shot

screaming animal

dying in the neighbor’s yard

at 3AM

No use

death is death

the fault was mine

and it seemed unreasonable

to kill a raccoon

for being a raccoon

death comes easy

light in the eyes

fading fast

-death comes easy

the living

left behind

with the curse

of wonder

Our last hen knows

she’s following us now

lonely and cooing

not wanting

to go back to the coop

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response

  1. Tom

    I re-walked my own journey down that path as I read your words, and wished I had acted as wisely as you. You know the story. The path to wisdom is strewn with such trials, and step by stumbling step one draws a little closer to the ultimate state of being. Or not.

    There is a Buddhist saying that goes, roughly, “I shall become enlightened for the sake of all living things.” Today, you are a bit closer to that state, and a living thing is still living, when it might well have been otherwise

    September 23, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Leave a Reply

