Craig Wisner

Pure.

It’s tempting to liken distance running to asceticism, especially when temps are over 90 degrees and climbs are approaching 1000 feet per mile.  The Desert Fathers parched their tongues under a Middle Eastern sun; I’m in the San Gabriel mountains with my head low, dizzy and grinding out the grade.

Rim Trail 1

Somewhere beneath the heat and sweat a silence takes over, a purity of being.  My body doing what it was built to do; blood pumping, muscles contracting, lungs filling and expelling air.  This is right.  And it’s not always a struggle; I had miles and miles of smooth, quiet running yesterday, everything clicking, everything steady.  No turbulence, just a mirror-like mind reflecting the world around me.  Silence and solitude and breath.

Rim Trail 2

I want to see the world before I’m gone.  I want fresh trails rolling out before me, new vistas around each bend.

2 responses

  1. Tom

    There are few better ways to enter that Zen like state of being in the moment. I still long
    for it, but for everything there is a season…..

    May 21, 2017 at 2:06 pm

    • I think you’ve still got it Tom, albeit maybe not at < 5 minute miles. 🙂

      May 21, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

